Commentary Box: Who will engrave their names in 2017?

Every year an individual sporting athlete or team will stamp their authority on a match and in doing so record a moment of brilliance in the history books. Sometimes new stories are written and in other cases a feeling of deja-vu will present itself as some teams achieve back to back victories in their respective championships. In both cases, their names will be inducted into the sporting timelines of 2017 – forever remembered for their prolific achievement.

We all know there can only be one winner and most obviously they are most likely remembered for their achievements – the harsh reality is that second place is only the first loser.

That in essence makes sport so fascinating – everyone has the chance to create history and become immortalized in their sporting fields. The question is who will take 2017 by the scruff of the neck and imprint an indelible mark in Potchefstroom’s proud sporting annals.

The first big question lies with the Varsity Cup champions, NWU Pukke, who will do their utmost to defend their title this year and keep the hallowed trophy in Potchefstroom. Can they do the double, do they have the resources? Who will take over the mantle from star players such as Rhyno Smith, Benhard Janse van Rensburg and Johan Deysel? What new faces will enthrall and entertain the rugby faithful this season and will experienced heads once again step up and be counted for?

The second question is directed to the NWU Pukke First Cricket Team, who are the current CSA National Club Champions. They have the big match temperament and the players do finally win the Varsity Cricket tournament for the first time. They have a settled team and home ground advantage. Now they need the toss of the coin and the benefit of the doubt to go their way.

Answers for these two questions lie firmly in the grasp of the big match on the playing field. Speculation, predictions and previews only provide the tip of the iceberg. The players are the ones to tip the victory into their direction and engrave their names on 2017’s winners list.

Will Pukke once again be on 2017’s list?

Wouter Pienaar
Sport Journalist

Latest News


Carletonville HeraldParys GazetteSedibeng SterVaal Weekblad