On My Playlist: Top 5 Deity’s Muse songs

Deity's Muse. From left to right: Shashan Pillay, Yokim Pillay, Wayne Boucher and Albin Boucher.
Deity's Muse. From left to right: Shashan Pillay, Yokim Pillay, Wayne Boucher and Albin Boucher.

Deity’s Muse has been a staple in the South African alternative rock and metal scene for more than a decade with their music garnering attention for its inventiveness, accessibility and its melodic nature. It’s a fusion that works well and has given the band the opportunity to tour internationally and share stages with some of the rock and metal musical heavyweights. The group’s live performances are something to behold with each member giving their own individual spin on the band’s diverse set list. Solid rock grooves with layers of atmospheric harmonies might just be one way to describe this band’s signature sound. All in all, it’s worth listening to. The group consists of the well-known Wayne Boucher with his signature beard (vocals and guitar), Sashan Pillay (drums), Alvin Boucher (bass and backing vocals) and Yokim Pillay (guitar and backing vocals).
Honourable Mentions: ‘Ten Years’, ‘Poles Apart’, ‘Where You Left Me’.

5. Walls Down
We open up the countdown with ‘Walls Down’ one of the tracks from the band’s 2016 release, Convergence. In this track, one can truly see how the band has evolved their sound from their earlier releases with a fuller, more atmospheric one while still keeping the hard rock riffs that Deity’s Muse is known for. The lyrics are also fantastically written and really fit the epic sound of the music: ‘When forced to question the life you’ve made It’s common knowledge, corrupt courage sent us back from where we came.’ This song sends a strong message that pride comes before an eventual fall and that walls will crumble. This musical direction is something fresh in the SA rock scene and it is no wonder that this band still has an ever-growing fan base in and outside of South Africa when you look at the quality of this track.

4. Both Sides
The harsh guitar riff catches your attention right from the beginning and invites you to listen further to this great track. Boucher’s vocals really shine through in this song as it bounces off well from the palm-muted guitar riff in the verses. The vocals’ trade off of ‘just breathe’ is also a great addition to the number. Alvin Boucher’s bass work is, once again, very solid in this track and provides a platform for all the other instrument to shine as well. The bridge also slows things down nicely with a distorted guitar riff before an atmospheric clean melody intercepts the musical piece for a bit of variation. One of the best lyrics from this song is: ‘I searched for perspective but perspective never found Cause questions are answered only when the time comes round. Would we be alive if the sun didn’t shine?’

3. This Broken Scar
This song starts off with Boucher’s cool delay on the guitar before Pillay and Alvin Boucher combine with bass and drums for a fuller sound in the intro. This is then taken to another level with a groovy riff on guitar from Boucher who continues this piece of musical genius in the verse. This track really has all the elements to separate your neck and head from your shoulders – just listen to Boucher growl before the main riff in the chorus. It’s loud, heavy and one for the moshpit. There is no better way to let go of emotions than listening to this song.

2. Satellites
Wayne Boucher starts off this single from their 2016 release Convergence on a sonic inspired journey with a tantalising intro riff. This is then expanded with a crunchy groove from Yokim Pillay on guitar before the verse kicks in with Boucher lamenting the difficulty of making changes. : ‘It’s hard to change. The mind’s made up. We’ll part some day. It will be just like a death.’ The chorus is where this song really shines with main and backing vocals creating a soothing harmony before the lead guitar work catches your attention in the verse. The number expands continually in the musical direction with a fuller sound in the bridge before Boucher lead guitar ends the song off. This song is put together really well with a lot of killer hooks.

1. I’m the Observer
The guitar riff in the intro is what makes this song so appealing and is one of many reasons why it takes the top step of the podium. The great thing about Deity’s Muse is that they have the knack of creating riffs that make you bang your head in delight and others that stick in your heads for days (or weeks) on end. The bass and drums fill in nicely, especially in the chorus with the ‘find your place, know yourself’ lyrics and the stop-start riff that is a great continuation of the main riff used throughout the song. The track also has a great breakdown post-chorus that really catches your ear with a few lovely hammer ons and pull offs, complemented by some distorted chugging – bliss to my ears.


Wouter Pienaar
Sport Journalist

Latest News


Carletonville HeraldParys GazetteSedibeng SterVaal Weekblad